Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Bryon Anderson

Wooden boat plans?

So I have been woodworking for 6 or 7 years now, and for several of those years I have been intrigued by the idea of someday building a simple wooden boat from one of the many plans available online. Up until recently, it was just sort of an idle daydream because I did not have anything like the kind of space a project like that would require. Now, however, I do, and I'm starting to get semi-serious about the boat idea. 

I have found a few sites that specialize in pretty simple plans that--according to them--an average novice-to-intermediate woodworker could execute. One of them even goes so far as to say something like, "If you can build a simple box or a birdhouse, you can build this boat." 

So, as I said, I'm intrigued. I'm thinking of something pretty simple that I could build using mostly plywood (marine grade), and then fiberglass the bottom and sides. I'm looking at plans for a 14/48 Jon boat on this site Jon-boat wooden boat plans (unclejohns.com)

If any of you have had any experience with building a wooden boat from plans, I'd be very curious to hear about your experience. And of course I will post pics if this harebrained scheme of mine starts to come to fruitition. :)