Fly Tying
HideHunter

Help on Danvise?

First, let me say thanks for a great resource. I'm pretty new to the game and self-taught so this site has been a great help.

Just bought a new Danvise for Stockards. Service was great. It came with a very informative video. The only thing I might have added was a short "tying" sequence showing the use of the "bobbin rest" and the "material holder".

How, when and where might I use these?

thnx..g

Hiya G, and welcome to the Plastic Club! smile.gif

The bobbin rest is for you to rest the bobbin on while you're using the rotary feature: You can drape the thread over it with the bobbin hanging down on the far (non-vise) side while you crank 'n' spin stuff on your fly. This keeps the thread/bobbin out of your way and also prevents it from continuing to wrap around your hook. I often toss a half-hitch on before I start cranking, just to be sure the thread stays put.

The bobbin rest should be set such that the thread travels in a straight line from your hook to the bobbin rest, and the distance should be as close as possible (so there's less thread pulled out of the bobbin.)

You'll drape the thread over the rest until you get sick of re-winding the thread back onto the bobbin when you need to use it again... Then you'll figure out ways to rest the bobbin itself on the contraption and only have maybe an inch of thread pulled out.

The material holder is simply a spring that you use to hold materials out of the way when you're tying. An example is if you were tying a Wooly Bugger and wanted to keep the length of copper ribbing wire out of the way while you wrap the hackle. Just pull it back and stick it between coils and it's no longer a nuicance.

BTW, the supplied spring is about twice as long as you need (at least mine was): Cut it in half and stash the other half away for a replacement.

Here are a couple of photos for you:

user posted image

user posted image

Cheers!

Gary