Fly Tying
mwf

Hook collection

Hello everyone I am new to both fly tying and this forum.

I have been tying for a couple of months and would like to begin creating a collection of mustad hooks. My question which mustad hooks should I have without going overboard?

I am looking at the following in 100pk:

94840- all sizes (I am going into terrestrial tying next)

3906- all sizes

I was also told to have 3906, 3906B, 9672, 79580 all in very sizes.

To me this seems like going overboard but buying bulk online can save money both per hook and shipping.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

MWF,

Zero, go with Daiichi or something of that nature. ;) That's just my opinion though. It depends on where you are located and what you are targeting, fish wise. If it's trout go with 10-26 dry hooks, 10-22 nymph hooks, 14-26 curved scud/emerger hooks. Streamers, get 4-12. Continuos bend streamer hooks for stimulators/stonefly nymphs and such 4-14. I guess what I can tell you is that it depends on what pattern you want to tie up, pick one and get the appropriate hooks. Pretty soon, you have more hooks than you know what to do with. That's part of the fun, we are all material junkies here. :D Anybody else help me out with this?? Take care and Tight lines! -James D TB7

mwf,

I think that is going a bit overboard, especially for somebody just getting started.

For the majority of dries you can get by with 94840 in sizes 10 to 18

For the majority of wets you can use either 3906 or 3399 or 3399A in sizes 6 to 14

For beadheads and longer nymphs use 9671 in sizes 6 to 12

For woolly buggers or streamers you can use 9672's in sizes 2 to 12

If you are going to be tying long shank terrestrials just use the 9671, and i wouldn't bother with the 79580's for the first while, the 9672's should be plenty large for any trout streamer you will tie.