Fly Tying
Sturgeon_Catcher

Anyone into Landscape Photography???

I built this garden 7 years ago immediately after I graduated from college in "99. Hard work for not having done any labor for almost 4 years. I employed right at 10 tons for the initial garden and have approx. 2 tons to complete the addition. The addition has been in the works for almost 3 years as I started on it in the winter.

It is primarily a shade garden and remains in almost total shade the entire day. Serious shade. I created the garden to hide the foundations of the two buildings. My goal was to make it appear as the foundations pushed the rock in position and or the flow of lava was as a real flow. Smooth in places but cooling causing ridges and drop offs (planting areas). The garden is fantastic in winter. The crown rock as I call them (uppermost rocks) describe beautiful miniature mountains and little valleys. Bad about gardening.

The problem is that I have never successfully created on film that which I wish to see. The light is horrible. These photos I snapped to show Collman the garden and thought I would see if I might derive some suggestions on lighting and or filling with multi-colors.

Fun garden and the wife really loves it. A little tricky to build and see in my mind as I created it. It is not possible to remove a rock. I put it together so tight whole sections have to be removed to allow just one to be removed. Rule #1: All rocks must touch in at least 3 places or it doesn't fit the opening.

The garden lies on a north - south axis. The photos were taken about 3:00 pm yesterday. Bright sunny day, temps in low 90's - yet cool in the garden. Uphill slope provides a little draft of air movement. Really cool temps. if I water it first. Cools all of that rock down just a little. 5 kinds of mosses etc etc

IPB Image

Foundation on right = almost 5' Foundation on left just 4' or thereabouts.

IPB Image