Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
stony

[Critique]

Well, this is my first attempt at using buck tail and for some reason, I'm not too happy with it. I know it's my first one but it doesn't look like the picture. Something is goofy with the head.

What do you think and what can I improve? Don't worry, I have thick skin.

post-5970-1153976878_thumb.jpg

The tail is too long, should be even with the back of the hook, seperate the strands and use only one, fluff the wool a bit at tail once its tied and clipped. The body and rib looks spot on. The bucktail should be a bit sparser, so that each colour can be determined, even and shorter. That is why the head is large, and the wing looks shabby. (you said you had thick skin and I couldn't think of another word). Once the body is complete try to have a flat tie in area that is even with the body. With the thread hanging, right below where the body ends.