Fly Tying
sniksoh

flies for largemouth bass

does anyone know some good flies that are irrisistable to largemouth bass? i am fairly new to tying so i really suck at spinning deer hair i am looking for any largemouth bass flies exept for the spun deer hair ones.

If you're still getting the feel for tying check out clouser minnows, wooly buggers, and bunny leeches. All 3 are really easy to tie and are very effective for bass as well as many other species.

I don't have any images on my work computer to upload, but my favorite overall largemouth bass fly is Garside's soft hackle streamer. I tie it in chartreuse and white (bright days) or purple and gray (overcast days) on a size 2 to 2/0 4xl hook. This fly is also a good candidate for a tube fly. It's been a very good pattern for LM for me over the years.

Joe C.

Good Day,

ha ha... nice pics Graham... kind of remind me of that bass guy from Georgia with the fishing show.... Hank Parker?

You know, if I had not seen it myself... a few years ago my youngest brother caught a largemouth about the same size as Grahams on the ol' simple bluegill black rubber spider! I was beyond words!

But back on topic... man, too many to chose from! Poppers, streamers, nymphs, etc...

However, I like, basic foam head poppers mostly in white and black. Purple bunny leeches. Large dragonfly nymphs. And several patterns of my own design that have yet to make it to the patterns area... one or two I am holding off on until after the FTF tying contest... :devil:

Another thing you could do is check on sites like Orvis or Cabela's for instance, or any other that sells fly selections, and check out their collection or selection of flies for bass, or any other fish for that matter. I refer specifically to the boxed collection of oh six to a dozen flies. There must be a good reason they chose these specific flies out of all they offer...

Steelie