Fly Tying
Katy Neusteter

Outsourcing fly tying to Asia

Hello,

I'm a Denver-based writer and editor writing a story for a local magazine about how outsourcing fly tying is affecting local tyers. Wondering if any of you have insights you would like to share or if you can suggest some resources for me to look into. The story will focus on two local businesses--one hackle supplier and one fly-tying operation--that send the majority of the their business to Asia, only to have the trout flies sent back to Colorado to be used on Colorado rivers. I would love to hear your thoughts on the issues surrounding outsourcing. Also, can anyone recommend a Colorado fly shop that sells only locally tied flies?

Thanks much,

Katy

Hi Katy- I can't help you with info about a fly shop, but I have sort of looked at the same circumstances you are looking into. It's simply economics. There will always be a small core of "celebrity" tyers here in the USA who make themselves a reputation, get endorsements, and are able to charge enough per fly to make a living. There always be enough wealthy or well-heeled fly fishermen travelling to destinations where these tyers are known, who will purchase the flies. Many of these tyers also publish books, videos, conduct seminars, etc for extra income.

there's simply more money to be made by outsourcing, or it wouldn't happen. I think there are darn few people around who actually make a decent living only tying flies. Most also own/run a tackle shop, guide, re-sell materials, and do the above mentioned things.

I think the vast majority of us would just rather tie all our own... I know that wasn't much help.

Thanks for the response. What are the benefits of tying your own flies? (I would imagine that you're better able to mimic local species...?) Also, can you name a few of the "star" tyers? I appreciate your time!

Beyond being a hobby I enjoy, tying my own flies brings me personal satisfaction when i catch a fish with afly that i tied.