Fly Tying
day5

Day5/red rover/seminar fly

OK I still need to figure out the head but the rest is better. Otherwise I think I hit the things that you all mentioned. The other thing I could not get right no matter how manny times I re tied and re bent and rer adjusted was the tippet wing. I just cant get it to touch the herl.

Nice job! The GP crests for the tail and topping (I hope I'm using the right terms) line up great!

From what I remember, the tippet wing doesn't touch the herl, but the black bar in the tippet lines up with the herl. I don't have my documentation here at work to double check with, but if I'm right, then you got it right on your fly.

(Ok, here's the part where I say to myself "If day5 can tie one that nice, I can do better than that!" B)

I'm no expert but for your head something that has helped me is to do what the seminar instructions said about cutting each barb at a time, starting at the back of the head and working your way forward to make the "head underbody", then what I do is take a razor blade and "smooth it out", kinda like shaping a spun deer hair bass bug. Then cover it with thread and paint it purty. I'd like to pick up a cauterizer one of these days and give that a try, but am still a little reluctant after seeing Daly's fly that caught fire a while back :lol:

Like I said, I'm no expert but here's a few things I noticed you could improve, some might just be the camera angle, others I could be off base on, but here's my .01 cent, feel free to tear mine apart when I post them tonight :lol:

-Crest is sitting a little too high

-alignment of wing tips

-that bottom strand of the GP tippet hanging down

-body hackle seems just a little too perpendicular to the shank(camera angle?)

-might be the camera angle too, but the throat looks like it's bulk is all on the near side of the hook

-the tail seems just a wee bit short(might just be me)

-it might look better if you took one more turn with the ostrich herl