Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
ILikeFish

Griffin Montana Mongoose

Hi ILikeFish,

I've been using the Mongoose for about 3 years now and absolutely love it. It comes with both a pedestal and a C clamp, and it's own travel case. Very sturdy vise with good hook holding power covering a wide range of hook sizes. The rotary feature is top notch as well.

Good luck with your decision!

Cheers,

Nick

I also have used a Mongoose for a few years. I dont have many complaints about it if any at all. I have never used the c clamp and I second the remarks about hook holding power etc... I tie flies in size ranges from 3/0 - 22 with no problem.

I've had one for a couple of years now. No problems at all, very satisfied with it. I have the clamp, have not tried the pedistal. I don't tie a wide range of hooks sizes (8 to 20) but have had no trouble with the holding power. Rotary operation is smooth. I can see myself tying on this one for a few years.

I would like to see them include a 90 degree extension on the handle, but that's not a big deal. IMO a very good vise for the money.

I've had one for a couple of years now. No problems at all, very satisfied with it. I have the clamp, have not tried the pedistal. I don't tie a wide range of hooks sizes (8 to 20) but have had no trouble with the holding power. Rotary operation is smooth. I can see myself tying on this one for a few years.

I would like to see them include a 90 degree extension on the handle, but that's not a big deal. IMO a very good vise for the money.

I agree I also wish it had a 90 degree feature of some sort, which would be my only criticism, not a big complaint, I still love the vise.