Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
DeerhairTom

Babcock Muddler or Pittsburg Steelers Muddler

I have been tying these at tying shows lately. Started with natural turkey and yellow, then graduated to the

Red White and Blue and now the Babcock wet fly colors (last name), or the Steelers colors. Thinking about football team colors set, I have a sheet of green foam the would make a great football field for display.

IPB Image

IPB Image

I chose to tye these at shows because I can demonstrate married-wings techniques, and working with deerhair.

DeerhairTom

Very nice. It would be cool to see all of them lined up on the field!

Nice deer hair work too. I have to practice that stuff!

Striking flies DHT. Look like they are fun to tie. I have been tying muddlers for a long time but I am just learning to marry wings. Thanks for the idea.

Thanks guys. They're a blast to tye and the color combinations are endless. You can be sure that

the rejects will go in my flybox. I have to locate some chartruese turkey rounds and tye up some

chartruese and white for smallmouth on the river. That color combo seems to work all the time.

DeerhairTom

Wow!! I love to Ty Muddlers but I never thought that you could do them like that Great Job!!!

Thanks For sharing DeerHair Tom

tyrite (Glen Dayton)

Thanks everyone. I am currently searching the internet for different colors of turkey rounds. Yep, the very first place I checked was J Stockard. I know Hareline sells pairs, but J Stockard does not list the rounds.

I may call J Stockard directly and make sure they don't carry them before I contact a place in Maryland.