Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
salmon&trout

4 weeks to travel and fish, where would you go?

First of all I'd like to say that I'm new to this web site and from what I've seen so far I'll be here every day for a long time to come.

My question: this fall begining the 8th of September I'll have 2 months off from work. I'd like to spend at least 4 weeks of that time on a fly fishing road trip.

I'm currently living in Vail, Co so this is where I plan o start my trek from.

I'm new to fly fishing for trout. All of my fly fishing has been for salmon in Alaska with some Steelhead fishing on the Skeena River near Terrace, BC.

I look forward to hearing your ideas and thoughts.

Kurt

Since your out west one of the places you HAVE to visit is the Green River in Utah. One of our members fished there not long ago. It is amazing looking water and scenery and here is his quote about the fishing:

The fish density is around 12,000 fish per mile and the average fish is 17 inches

Need I say more?

Here's a link to his pictures and full trip report: http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=3422

If you're looking for a challenge, head north to western Montana/eastern Idaho and test your skill on the Ranch section of the Henry's Fork and the spring creeks of Paradise Valley. If you can catch fish there, you can catch fish anywhere.

October in Yellowstone can be incredible fishing on the Madison and the Firehole Rivers. Plus Bullwinkle's has good food and brewski's not far from either river.

Then there are the Steelhead runs up in the PNW, don't forget about those.

The Green River is full of fish and has nice scenery, but if I were going to Utah, I'd fish the Provo and the Strawberry Rivers before I'd go all the way out to Dutch John for the Green. The Provo is more accessable and has bigger fish.

Need somebody to drive? wink.gif