Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Crotalus

Tossing around the idea of getting a DSLR camera

We had a 35mm Canon Rebel that took really nice photos. Then we moved into the digital world and had a few kodak easy shares and i have a Pentax Optio W20 for fishing.

I had the Kodak out a few weeks ago and dropped it thus rendering it useless. Now we need a new camera. The Pentax is nice for fishing and hunting, but with the small lens the Kodak took better pictures even though it was 2 years older and took 5 MP pictures compared to the Pentax's 7 MP.

So now my searching has taken me to two possible solutions. The first is a Canon Powershot SX10s or for about $200 more the Digital Rebel XS.

For me either camera will be more than adequate as i am not a pro photographer or even a hobbist, i just like taking nice pictures, usually while camping with the kids. The one area that i do like is taking macro photos of flies when i am in tying mode.

Will i need to sink several hundered dollars into a macro lens for the DSLR or will i be able to take adequate photos using the 18-55 lens with some minor cropping? I dont need to be able to submit the photos for publishing or anything like that, i just like to post some pics to this site from time to time (like the one in my avatar).

Of course now i am kicking myself that i sold the lenses with my 35 mm Rebel 18 months ago - I had a pretty nice 80-200 that would have worked with the DSLR and saved me from buying a new one :(

Go with the DSLR and use your kit lens. You will not be disappointed because you will have more options later on when upgrading. You will also have more options when taking photos.

In regards to the 18-55....

here are couple samples from a recent blog post:

http://www.flyfishermanforum.com/2008/11/tying-macdaddy.html