Fly Tying
rich5665

Saving money tying your own flies

I keep reading and hearing, that getting into tying your own flies to save yourself a little money may not pay for itself for a few years. Now, I know I haven't been at this long, maybe two months so I'm no expert. But, after finishing my the flies for my first swap and tying a few of extras for my son and myself. I did a comparison of buying the materials for the pattern I chose (total cost $16.75 w/shipping) and what the cost of the bug I tied would be if I had purchased an equal number of flies from an online store. ($46.75 w/shipping). Yep, I've saved some money. :yahoo: So I now have a good amount of woolly buggers and nymphs, and a few questionable frankenflies just waiting for me to wrap around a tree branch, bush or other stream side obstacle, while I try and direct one of my new creations to it's intended target. :wallbash:

Of course saving money wasn't the reason I started tying flies, (I just need one more hobby). It seems that Fishing, camping, hiking, biking, photography, golf and model railroading just weren't enough :hyst: :hyst: And now my son is talking about taking Hunting courses :blink:

Oh well, I' cant wait to get back to the bench tonight, there's an Adams pattern I need to get the hang of. :headbang: Some more material would be nice, a few more tools. Hmm I wonder if I should get a better vise. There were some skins on eBay. . .

Uh maybe I'm not saving any money after all.

After you've accumulated at least several thousand dollars worth of materials and come to the realization you won't be able to tie it all up in several lifetimes, then re-visit the idea of saving money by tying your own flies. :lol:

-- Mike

My wife calls my vise , my mistress. My tying keeps me home when I could be somewhere else spending money.