Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Fly Tying Paintballer6

Beginner Trout Patterns?

Hey guys. I've been laying low for a while tying me easy gold ribbed hare's ear flies, adams, etc. But i'm running out of ideas and could use some help with some fairly simple dry and wet trout flies. Any patterns would help. Thanks a TON!!!!!! :lol:

Hey guys. I've been laying low for a while tying me easy gold ribbed hare's ear flies, adams, etc. But i'm running out of ideas and could use some help with some fairly simple dry and wet trout flies. Any patterns would help. Thanks a TON!!!!!! :lol:

Paintballer, I'm no expert but one of the things that helped me most is picking up a couple of "beginner" books and tying every fly in them:

- Charlie Craven's "Basic Fly Tying"

- Ted Leeson and Jim Schollmeyer's "Benchside Introduction to Fly Tying"

- Peter Gathercole's "Fly Tying for Beginners"

- Skip Morris' "Fly Tying Made Clear and Simple"

Pheasant tail nymph, copper john, woolly buggers (in all colors and sizes), elk hair caddis, e/c caddis, ants, comparadun, griffith's gnat, just to name a few. Hope this helps ;-)

John

Funny you should ask, just a day or two ago I added a dry fly pattern called the F Fly for that very reason, it's a very simple fly. All you'll need is a couple of CDC feathers and some pheasant tail fibers. It should be on the 1st or 2nd page in the fly pattern database. Really easy to tie, looks great, and trout love to eat it!

Here's a pic:

post-20827-1240378032_thumb.jpg

Cody

I would add Dave Hughes book "Essential Trout Flies" to your collection. It is as the title suggests, the essential patterns that one should have first in their boxes no mater where you fish. You will need to understand what's in your streams, caddis, mayflies, midges, all of the above . . . . to pick the patterns.

Hey guys! thanks a ton. Keep 'em coming :D