Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
flyfisher715

beginner fly tying videos or dvds

hey guys im new to this and i was wondering what would be more helpful an instructional book or a dvd? please list your favorite one of either. Thanks everyone

I have mine on sale on my web site for 9.99 right now. Its a bit more advanced......

Hey, flyfisher715. I started with books, but many follow the old adage "A picture is worth a thousand words". For a beginner, whether you get the book or video, Skip Morris' Fly Tying Made Clear & Simple is hard to beat. Check out this earlier post for more ideas.

Mike

I would suggest checking out David Cammiss on youtube .

Some good books are..

1. Essential Trout Flies By Dave Hughes

2. Tying Small Flies By Ed Engle

If you're still monitoring this topic...

I really like the DVD/Tapes that come with the Bass Pro Shops tying kits. You don't have to buy the kits to get the videos. I think they sell them for $10-$15 or so separately.

There are four: Saltwater, Bass, Trout/Panfish & Jigs.

Lefty Kreh does the intros on all of them and all of the saltwater one. He does parts of the other ones. The other guy on the tapes is a guy named Mike Hough/Huff (sp?). His sections are pretty informative as well and they both give some good tips.

The patterns they cover are useful and effective. I spent a lot of time watching the videos when my daughter was born and I'd take my turn on the middle of the night feedings.