Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Arkansas Mike

How Did You Learn To Tie?

I was just curious as to how many of you guys are 100% self-taught, and how many have taken classes or had personal mentors looking over your shoulder, etc. Obviously, if you read tying books or are a member of this forum, you learn and get ideas from others, but for our purpose, we'll still classify that as "self-taught". If you have attended tying classes, would you say you learned more from them, or by tying and studying on your own?

Thanks for your input.

Mike

well, since i just started about a month ago, i learned from this forum and youtube. i would say that taking a class inst necessary, i feel my flies are turning out great, and i spent money straight on materials, not classes. and mike, you have kept me being positive on all my flies, thanks for being such a great guy!

Loren

...you have kept me being positive on all my flies, thanks for being such a great guy!

You are very welcome, Loren. I wish I'd started when I was your age. Keep at it. If you're this good after only a month...how good will you be in a year?

Or when you are 40?

Mike

I took several classes, watched some really great tyers in our craft, read lots of boats , watched tons of video's and practice, practice,practice. I teach others what has been taught to me now and learn as I teach them. You can never stop learning but, I would say at some point , you owe it to yourself to take a lesson (advanced tying, intermediate, Classic's, whatever). This broadens your scope and opens new doors to your tying skills.

I learned the hard way! Totally on my own with books and an old video that I picked up at a show (VHS).

diddo...books and i rented one or two videos i think.

shane

the recreation department where i worked offered free tying classes. you had to buy your own tools and then materials for each class.