Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Jason68

A Beginner Question

Hi This is my first post and I am very new to fly tying. My question, I see Sharpie Pen's and Art markers in some of your pictures Are these used often? Should I invest in them?

Any help would help Thanks.

The only thing that I would use them for is to color the nymph skin on a Czech or something.

Welcome to the forum!!

Let me know if you want some Deer hair I have a little extra.

i wouldnt rush out and buy them immediately, but they are nice to have around just in case

i would concentrate on better quality materials and tools rather than markers

If I were you I wouldn't buy markers until (and unless) you have a need for them. Then get the colours you need for the pattern at hand. For the cost of a few markers you can get yourself a hen cape, a few squares of elk, or a half-dozen bags of dubbing, all of which you will get more use out of.

sharpies are very useful for some saltwater patterns, especially when adding bars to shrimp patterns and some baitfish patterns like pinfish.

i think they are nice. but i have been tying for 2 years without them. i just started using them. and most of them are used for larger flies like bass and saltwater.

Hi This is my first post and I am very new to fly tying. My question, I see Sharpie Pen's and Art markers in some of your pictures Are these used often? Should I invest in them?

Any help would help Thanks.

Markers wouldn't be (and weren't) my first thought when getting set up to tie. Maybe a black Sharpie would come in handy. BUT... if you are into painting flies, by all means go for it! B)