Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
FlyFishin'Jam

Pink Salmon type ties for swinging

Well i am a total newb at tying for salmon, my relm is firmly planted in streamers and saltwater patterns, i would love to start tying some of the classic type patterns i see on here soon! Some awesome material i see here. Ahh well gimmie a year or so.

Anyway, i have fished pinks and chinooks on the west coast. Usually when browsing the fly selections at shops i see an aweful lot of pink stuff. I mean i don't think it matters, i have caught pinks on all sorts of flies, and they would probably eat a bare hook sometimes. The pink larger sizes certainly might help in discoloured water or when bigger fish like coho and chinooks are around.

here are a couple of my embarrassing ties.

post-29540-1290027138_thumb.jpg

1 is a black fuzzle bugger which i just put a bit of pink chenille at the eye of the hook, has some 0.30 lead wire in him

2 is just a simple pink bunny strip zonker type thing again with some lead wire

3 is interesting, its made with a purple sparkle dubbing brush and is actually a clouser type fly with tungsten hourglass eyes

4 is a big ass streamer with what was left of my dubbing brush and a few pink saddle hackles, also 0.30 lead wire (i think this would be for larger fish its 1/0, probably needs a stinger hook i rekon) Also i suspect this would work for pike.

greetings btw :)

Not embarrassing at all, very nice in fact. Welcome to the Forum!

Oh thankyou! These will be heading with me to BC next season, might try a couple of my other streamers i put in the warmwater section for steelhead still. Working on a nice alewife at the moment.

Jam,

next come you come out this way, and get the itch to try something different, throw on a floating line and skate the Pink Wog for pinks. Its a blast getting a pink salmon on the surface, beats snagging them when its too thick.

Jam,