Fly Tying
Andrew

What do 25" + trout eat

After work on Friday, I shot over to Mossy Creek. Mossy is an extremely fertile and productive stream in central VA. I fished for about an hour only moving one 10" fish on an egg pattern. I continued with the egg and hooked into another 10" brown. As I was playing this fish to shore, a monster appeared out of the depths and pounced on my hooked trout. This monster was actually the largest trout I have ever seen on Mossy. I was at least 25 inches. When this fish had my fish in its mouth, I could not move my line. I was eventually able to free the caught trout. I was unable, however, to draw the monster into striking.

My question what fly would you use for trout that eat and manhandle (oris that fishhandle) 10" trout?

Andrew

I'm a rookie at this, but from what I have been reading in Field and Stream and in some other books is that bigger streamers are great in the fall for bigger trout.

Things like wooly buggers and clousers, and probably a million other streamers I've never heard of or seen before would be the ticket. Good luck!

Sounds like a very large Brown wanted your live "imitation" - larger sculpins, clousers, deceivers or featherwing streamers in local forage fish patterns sound like favorable options.

How about a large baitfish pattern, imitative of the browns in the creek? Something along the lines of these might work. They can be tied in various sizes and color variations. I've been working on smolt patterns for all of the common trout species for the past week or so. With a little imagination it shouldn't be too hard to come up with two or three color variations in various sizes to tempt that lunker. Look at the 2nd page of the thread for the recipe and instructions...

Big Trout Book