Fly Tying
kimjensen

Must have nymph patterns. Help.

Hi.

I'm totally new to tying nymphs and i would appreciate if you could suggest some "must have" patterns for me. I think i need to start with the easy ones for a starter. :)

Thanks.

I'd start with a Pheasant Tail Nymph. Easy to tie, not a lot of materials required, and it is proven fish killer!!

Are you new to tying in general or just to tying small nymphs?

If you're new to tying, I would start with some midge nymphs like the black beauty and the brassie. Then I would move on to something like an RS2. Then maybe the Hare's ear nymph and/or the pheasant tail nymph. The copper john is a great fly and nymph but the other patterns will teach you the techniques you need to learn to tie the copper john.

Other good patterns are the prince nymph and the kauffman stone fly nymph.

kim

You are going to get a lot of pattern suggestions. (That's what you asked for after all.!) But I suggest you do some research and learn the basic forms of the immature aquatic insects represented by the patterns. There are the mayfly nymphs, stonefly nymphs, caddis larvae and pupae and the diptera larvae and pupae. Find out what each looks like and try to replicate that on a hook. How many tails? If so, how long? Is the abdomen tapered? Is it flattened? Are there wingcases? Legs? Gills? Breathing tubes? You won't need to build a realistic-looking copy- the best patterns just give the general impression of the insects they represent. To catch fish your flies should also behave like the natural. This doesn't mean it must undulate through the water like a swimming nymph (although some patterns do) or burrow in the silt like a big Hexagenia nymph. But if the nymph is of most interest to the fish when it is in the surface film you should use a light hook. If your fly is meant to represent a nymph or larva dislodged from its anchorage you need to use a heavy hook, maybe with lead wire or a beadhead to get it down to the bottom.