Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
kdp0933

Looking for some feedback

First off, I want to extend a thank you to everyone. I have been lurking in the shadows for the past couple months, and this forum has been an incredible tool. I just started tying a few months back and thought it was time I started posting. I recently started tying dry flies and was looking for some feedback to help me improve the quality of my finished product. Any and all comments are much appreciated.

Red Quill

IMG_0129_zps14c42d51.jpg

IMG_0133_zps7238ed0f.jpg

March Brown

IMG_0159_zps28770c17.jpg

IMG_0160_zpsa54c2649.jpg

March Brown

IMG_0164_zpsa57d0181.jpg

How do my proportions look? Are the wings set correctly? I'm still learning to wrap my hackle correctly. I'm finding it difficult to not crowd the eye no matter how aware I am of it.

So far I have only attempted tying Dries that call for wing material I have on hand (quills, flank feathers, I have even experimented with swiss straw - see photos). As I move towards tying dries with hackle wings, can someone recommend a good source for appropriately sized material in a variety of colors? What works best for you? (whiting hen capes? metz? indian hen capes?)

Blue Quill

IMG_0126_zps3168e96f.jpg

BWO

IMG_0117_zps4d8df209.jpg

I really like the realistic look that swiss straw gives, I just don't know how well it will hold up or perform. Any suggestions for utilizing this stuff?

Thanks again.