Fly Tying
RichK

How many flies?

Ok, to start off with I'm completely new to fly fishing as I mentioned in another thread so bare with the newb questions. I'm gearing up to do some fly fishing in the Adirondacks and Finger Lakes region of NY for mid-April to the end of May. How many varieties of flies to I need to realistically have a decent setup? I'm sure I don't want to head out with just one or two different styles of flies! I will be fishing for brown and rainbow trout.

Rich, depending on how folks categorize their flies, there are about 5 different types that may apply to the type fishing you intend. Dry flies, wet flies, nymphs, streamers & terrestrials. There is some overlap in each, as some patterns could fit in more than one.

Depending on how much fishing you intend to be doing, a few patterns from each could be a decent set-up. There are patterns that will imitate a variety of things that trout eat, and there are more specific patterns. Getting started, the generic patterns will likely be your best bet to stock up on, and once you get up there, visit local fly shops to get more specific patterns for the area.

For dry flies, patterns such as the Adams is a good all around fly, Elk Hair Caddis is another & perhaps a Wulff pattern or a Humpy. These all float well too. Sizes 12 & 14 are good general use sizes.

Wet Flies are a bit different because they cover some different styles, but a few colors from light to dark in the Soft Hackle style should be fine. Again, 12 & 14 are good sizes.

Nymphs imitate a specific stage of aquatic insects. Some patterns work well for different species. Get some Hare's Ear's, Zug Bugs, and perhaps a Casual Dress. Sizes from 10 to 14.

Streamers imitate baitfish. The Black Nose Dace & Grey Ghost are very popular, & work well. Sizes, 10 to 6, perhaps a #4 for the lake fishing, depending on the rod wt you have.