Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
HailfireX

A complete beginner

Hello,

I thought I would introduce myself. My name is Mike and I live in N.W. Iowa. I am a complete beginner when it comes to tying flies. I bought a Wapsi deluxe fly tying kit off of Amazon and am very excited to use it. I also picked up a few things at my local craft shop to expand what came in the kit. I also bought a little bit of Balsa wood in hope of making some poppers out of it. What kind of hooks should I get to make the poppers? Also are there any tricks or reccomendations on what type of fly I should try tying first?

I mostly fly fish for Bass, and panfish beings where I live there aren't any trout streams. I also enjoy other ways of fishing, but really like fly fishing.

I am saving up for a fishing Kayak also. Any reccomendations on what Kayaks are out there would be nice as well. The one I have my heart set on right now is a Jackson Kayak Cuda 12.

I know that eventually I will want to invest more in a rotary vise and other tools of the trade.

Anyhow I am waiting patiently for the ice to be off the lakes and rivers here smile.png

Thanks in advance for the input,

Mike

Mike,

Welcome to the site. I have only been tying for about a year and started out with poppers also. I got alot of ideas fron looking around on the internet. Youtube has alot of good videos on tying poppers or just about any other type of fly. There are alot of good step by step patterns on this site also.

I just started tying some foam ants and spiders using 2mm craft foam. I wish I would have started tying them before I started tying poppers. They are very simple and quick to tie. Can't wait for the water to warm up a little so iI can try them. out