Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
cdnfishguy11

Orvis Clearwater Experiences?

Hey everyone,

I was wondering if anyone has any experience with the orvis clearwater rods? I am interested in an 8 wt. I would be using it for some warmwater fishing (larger pike and bass bugs I cant cast with 6wt) with the added benifit as being an excellent rod for winter steelhead on the great lakes.

They have a sale on the combos right now on their website, I was just curious if anyone has ever used these rods and can speak to there durability or lack there of.

If not is there something in the same price class that would be better for me? I know there is lots out there and dont want to over look anything before making my decision. But I cannot afford to spend much more as I am still a student and have lots of other things to pay for!

Thanks for the help

I have a local builder that I am very good friends with I was just thinking that the orvis rod could hold me over until I have the money to get myself a work of art!

Orvis Clearwaters are their entry level. I have an Orvis Green river combo which was an old budget Orvis, I received it like 12 years ago when the fly bug bit hard and it has served me well. The cork on the grip is pretty low grade. The components are not exactly top shelf either but it had a reel and line and I was happy. If you HAVE TO HAVE IT NOW...go ahead and buy with confidence since its a whole outfit. I have an 8 weight I am building you and a reel to match, not a top line reel but one that is as nice as any entry level stuff, if it were closer to finished I would offer it to you for about two or two and a half..somewhere in there. But alas it is a ways out from being done and not exactly a priority at the moment while I work on other things. In other words I havent ordered all the parts yet lol...