Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
ngt

Flies for perch?

new to fly fishing and new to fly tying, but want to fly fish for perch in the bay. I think my salt water 9wt might be a bit overkill for perch, but my 3 and 5wt are fresh water cheapo setups (not sure if they can used for both, like I said, I'm new to this)

So what flies would be good for perch fishing. I usually fish live grass shrimp and I saw some great looking grass shimp made by people on this board, but I don't think I'm good enough at tying to take those on quite yet. Any suggestions or flies that i should give a try for this? Or clarification on the fresh/salt thing for my smaller cheaper rods would be appreciated. The 3wt is a cheapo LL Bean and the 5wt is a cheapo reddington pursuit. My 9wt is also a reddington pursuit, but the "salt water" model, whatever that means. (yeah, I'm new.)

thanks in advance,

Eric

Uh... define perch a bit more. To me that is a yellow perch (lake perch) and not something you really chase with a fly rod.

I'm getting the idea you mean some sort of saltwater fish...

Sounds like white perch, and anadromous species closely related to the striped bass and white bass. ( http://web1.cnre.vt.edu/efish/families/whiteperch.html) They are common here in eastern NC in both fresh and salt water. They are fairly small, so a 5wt or 6wt would be adequate. When fishing in saltwater, just make sure you clean your rod and reel thoroughly after fishing.

I caught a bunch of them during the spawning run on the Haw River, a couple of years ago, using a hare's ear nymph. Small minnow patterns or glass shrimp patters should also work. Bait fishermen here use cut bait and blood worms.

Sorry for not being clear. I'm on the west coast. I'm thinking San Francisco Bay and San Pablo bay. Lots of different perch around the piers and rock walls. Rubber lips, etc...