Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
frogeyes

Barbless hooks

Just put an order in at Allen Fly Fishing and got me a bunch of barbless hooks. I have never used barbless before but all the people I talk to and videos I watch they are useing them. What are the benifets of using them? Also I seen that they had their own type of fly line has anyone used them?

What are the benifets of using them?

they are cheaper in price than any other brand of barbless hooks out there

the come out of the fishes lips without ripping any flesh

they come out of human skin without ripping any flesh

I find it saves a lot of time using barbless, saves from having to pinch the barb every time you tie a fly. Maybe I'm wrong but I tend to believe the less squeezing and pinching a hook with pliers the better, In some cases weakening the hook.

The biggest advantage is in releasing fish. Much less (sometimes no,) damage is done removing a barbless hook. You may loose the occasional fish, but you have already won since the fish took your fly in the first place.

There are some who feel that a barbless hook can cause more damage than a barbed hook when playing a fish. Their theory is that the barbless hooks can move about when playing a fish. The hook can come part way out, and then re-set itself in a slightly different path many times during the fight.

While that may be the case, I still feel that the barbless hook causes significantly less damage during the hook removal. I do know that removing barbless hooks from yourself is MUCH less problem, but I don't know about the how the fish sees it.

Yes it does same a little time in not having to pinch barbs, and you will obviously not have an issue with damaging the hooks.

There are some places that require that all hooks used be barbless. I usually tie several boxes marked a such for these locations. I even keep a couple of boxes of "Yellowstone" nymphs that are weighted without lead.