Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
ezmoneychuck

HELP NEEDED - CASTING

I am new to fly fishing. I have a 9' 4 weight Clearwater pole that I received as a present.

It has 4 weight forward floating line with 6' tapered leader and 3' tippet

What is the largest fly I can cast with this?

I tried casting a #10 streamer and could only cast maybe 30' at the very max, and then the whole leader/tippet/fly comes down in a big pile...

Any help would be appreciated

Chuck

Arroyo Grande

Hard to say. Each caster is different, but when I'm casting a #10 streamer I like to use a 6- or 7-weight rod.

Also, I think one of the biggest mistakes beginning fly casters make is allowing slack to form between their hands. Assuming you're not hauling, one way to avoid this is too keep your hands close to each other during the cast. The other way is to make sure they at least move in-sync during the cast. (For example, make sure you don't begin your forward cast by moving your rod hand before you move your line hand.)

BTW, are you hauling? Learning the double haul will make things easier, just make sure you always finish your upward haul with your line hand up to your rod hand.

Randy

Your question is difficult to answer -- it would be easier if we knew the breaking strength/diameter of the tippet on your leader (usually expressed as a number followed by an "X", e.g. 3X, 4X etc.). The larger the number in front of the "X", the smaller the diameter and breaking strength of the tippet.

A good rule of thumb is sometimes referred to as the "Rule of 4", which says you take the size of the fly you want to fish and divide by 4 to get the size tippet that is appropriate. For example, if you wanted to fish a size 16 fly, 16 divided by 4 is 4, so you would use a 4x tippet. This isn't a foolproof system, but it usually gets you in the ballpark.