Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
jd1983

Critique this fly

This is my first attempt at the Royal Coachman. I have a couple things in mind to work on for the next one (like getting both wings on straight) but wanted to get other opinions. So, what would you pick out as something that needs fixing.

post-48654-0-18075100-1382213152_thumb.jpg

post-48654-0-52456900-1382213163_thumb.jpg

post-48654-0-50974400-1382213176_thumb.jpg

Sorry, I didn't realize how bad those pictures are. Can't find the real camera so I'm relying on the phone.

The only thing I would say is that your body needs to be better proportioned, it needs to be equal 1/3 sections. And the stuff that you said.

What kind of hook did you use? The shank seems a bit long for a dry fly.

As you know, the wings need work. They don't need to be pretty, but they have to be symmetrical or the fly will never land properly. I agree that the body sections should be equal, and I would shrink the whole body a bit to leave more room for the hackle. Having said all that, it is a good first try!

Mike.

Looks pretty good. The one thing that really jumps out at me is that the tail is just a bit too long. The other stuff just needs to be fine tuned. Good job.

even the tips of the tail

body work is decent

use quill slips from matched feathers (left and right side)

wing should be located at the 1/3 shank

hackle work not bad either. maybe equal wraps behind and forward of the wing. looks to be about 1 1/2 gape and thats ok

use the step by step below for tying in the wings

http://ukflydressing.proboards.com/thread/3059

video

Thanks for the comments, everyone. My original take on that fly was that, outside of the wing issue, I didn't start the body as far back on the shank as I should have and I crowded the body, wings, and hackle towards the eye of the hook. Glad to have those comments on the proportions, even tail, wing position, etc. I'm on #5 right now and will post some photos later.