Fly Tying
Simplejack

How far should I be able to cast?

I have a Okuma Cascade Fly Fishing Combo 5/6 SA Air Cel Trout Weight and was wondering how far should I be able to cast during normal fishing? I'm still learning how to cast and was needing to know if I am casting as far as I should be able to or if I'm falling short.
When I'm out casting, I feel like I need more rod to get more distance or at least a heavier action rod?

You need to cast as far as the fish are....

There are guys who can cast a fly line without a rod, so the issue usually isn't a need for "more rod", it is usually how you use what you've got.

There are so many variables that it is nearly impossible to tell you how far you should be able to cast. If you fish brook trout streams it will be quite different than if you are flats fishing for bonefish, or casting big ugly stuff for pike on a big lake. Best to get someone who actually knows what they are doing to show you.

I would say if you can consistently put your fly in a hula-hoop sized target at about 40 feet, you're off to a good start. That's guessing about a 7-1/2 foot leader, a 9 foot rod, and 25-30 feet of line to work with. Use a shorter leader, and practice practice practice.

for most stream/trout fishing, 40-50 feet is plenty. As a warmwater fisherman, it's generally recommended that you be able to cast 80 feet, but that's more to encourage you to learn to build the higher line speeds necessary for casting BIG flies and teaching to cover more water more efficiently.

Really depends on the water you are fishing. There are streams that I Czech nymph where I am only casting maybe 6-10 feet and drifting maybe 15 ft. The area I live is mostly roll casting areas so I may only need to cast 25' or so.