Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
grandriverbumm

Best Moderate-Fast Action 4wt for 5-600 bux

I have been fishing a st croix avid for 12 years...been a good rod with very forgiving casts. I am looking to purchase a new rod (my avid is a 2 piece and I want a 4 piece), and I fish both nymphs and dry (depending on whats happening) and I think a moderate-fast would work well for me. I am curious what rods in my price range people might suggest?

Thanks

Try an Echo Edge 8ft 4wt. Mine is great and I have some good rods to compare it against. Check out Yellowstone Anglers 4wt shoot out.

Buy a custom rod. You can have it designed to fit your needs and you can easily get it within or under your price point. Steeldrifter on here www.midwestcustomflyrods.com is one builder. I have several of his rods and they are excellent. You won't beat his prices. I have other custom rods as well.

Agree wholeheartedly with Kudu. I will go so far as to say that from the recent experience I've had with MCFR I will probably never buy another fly rod that is not made by him.

Scott

The absolute best rod is the one you have cast and like the best.

There are a TON of rods in your price range and it would be foolhardy to accept a recommendation out of the blue without doing your own research. No one here is going to tell you about any secret or unknown rod that is going to cast better than all others. Find one you can cast well which has the desired action. With the number of rod manufactures and styles out there, one would have a very hard time finding a bad rod, although it take a bit of work to find one your really like.

Custom rods were brought up. If you are hard on your equipment, I would think very hard before buying a custom built rod.

Custom rods were brought up. If you are hard on your equipment, I would think very hard before buying a custom built rod.