Fly Tying
ckpj99

Classic designs that work for panfish/smallmouth

I just started fly fishing for panfish and bass in the Midwest. I've been fly fishing out west for trout for probably 20 years. I have a lot of experience tying trout flies and I like the more classic designs and materials.

So here's my questions. What classic designs will work for panfish in lakes and slow moving streams? I've tied some foam and cork poppers, but I'd like to tie some caddis and wooly bugger designs that will actually work for what I'm fishing for.

Is there any reason to keep tying really small flies? It seems like even small blue gill will chomp on rather large flies, like size 6 hooks and even bigger.

Also, most of the places I fish have panfish and bigger bass, so it seems like I need to cover my bases.

Finally, it seems like most people here fish with poppers or some right below the surface with a strike indicator. Is there any reason to be tying heavy sinking flies with lead wire to get to deeper water?

I feel like I'm starting over again with my fishing. I feel clueless!

You've pretty much answered most of your own questions I think. Sounds to me like you just need some confirmation or reassurances from some of the rest of us.

For panfish, any fly you've used for trout will also work. I like those tied with foam, as they float far longer than those tied to float with natural materials, plus they tend to be more durable. I also like deerhair, but still tend to go with the foam more often. I also often stick with terrestrial type patterns. Matching the hatch is fine when there's a significant hatch going on. It doesn't hurt to take advantage of a hatch but "matching" is seldom needed with panfishes or bass.