Fly Tying
vb1971

Please comment on the below books

Hi Everyone,

I have been tying for about 4 months and progressing well with help from guys at the club as well the internet and of course You Tube. Call me old fashioned but I love books and would like to increase my library of 'fly tying pattern' books for the study. I have a few specific Australian Pattern books which are good and I have recently seen two others which may also suite. I would appreciate feedback on the following titles

1. 365 Trout Flies by Van Vliet

2. Nymph Fly-tying Techniques by Schollmeyer

I look forward to your feedback

Kind Regards

VB1971

VB, I share your interest in books. I've collected quite a few myself, and most are pattern books. Can't comment on either, have never seen them, but do have other books that Jim Schollmeyer has co-authored, and feel his writing & photography are excellent. I would expect a book that he's written to be excellent as well. He certainly knows the sport & tying subjects extremely well.

BTW, welcome to the forums & to the tying addiction! smile.png

1. its an OK book by john van vliet AND hans weilenmann but you can find all of hans' flies on his website and van vliets submissions on the internet (basically a lot of traditional patterns)

2. I have no comment on this book but I would recommend the fly tyers benchside reference instead which would contain a whole lot more than just nymph tying techniques

I would also recommend beginner tying books by Charlie Craven