Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Stevegud1

Oh boy...

Took my first crack at a dry fly...size 18 BWO...wow, what a disappointment! After watching a ton of YouTube videos, and putting on the magnifying glasses, I did my best, but it doesn't look anything like the storebought one I grabbed for a model to mimic. I am not a novice at tying flies, but i am new at such a small dry fly. Any tips?

If you are like most of us, you will not be "happy" with the results of any fly that you tie for the first time. Even if it turns out OK it will get better the more times you tie it. Just keep at it you'll get the hang of it. Repetition is the key.

"It's all in the wrist!" smile.png

One other thing, you need to downsize your materials. The hackle is obvious, but also the thread. I wouldn't try an 18 with anything larger than Uni-Thread 8/0. Veevus 12/0 or Gordon Griffiths 14/0 would be good choices too.

Someone, recently (Flytier?), posted a side by side photograph of all those smaller threads. They are much the same size visually, but on a 18, or smaller, hook, 3-filiments thinner can make a difference.

Mostly though, as the others have observed, it's just practice.

Thanks for the tips, guys. I did go to 8/0 for the thread size, and that was part of my problem. I either snapped it or accidentally cut it 3-4 times on that first fly. I will have to get better at that, and I really like the idea of starting with larger sizes first. Will have to do that right away.

Shoe, I appreciate the Happy Gilmore reference....or was that the hips? Lol

I will keep at it, but I didn't realize how bad my eyesight got until just then...ha ha.