Fly Tying
Gene L

How many flies

do you need to tie of a certain pattern before you get in the groove. It takes me about a dozen, but I'm no production tier and don't tie daily. I look at the first of a series and I can pretty well tell by the progress from one to twelve or more. The more I tie, the more muscle memory gets instilled.

If you can tie number a great fly from number one, you're a talented guy. I can't. I think the journey along the way is pleasing and informitive.

The thing is, they all fish pretty well, and I'm tying for myself. Maybe I'm too easily satisfied.

This has been brought up before. I firmly believe that there are 2 kinds of tier (just like there are 10 kinds of people - those that understand binary and those that don't). Those like yourself, that tie by rote, developing a rhythm, and those who tie deliberately. I would not say either is wrong or one better than the other. They are just different.

AK Best tiies by rhythm. He takes a few flies to get going. I tie deliberately. There is no rhythm to what I do it is slow and deliberate. If something goes wrong I will go back and put it right. This is slower, but doesn't produce sub standard flies. That to me is important. The kinds of order I will tie up is maybe one or two dozen of a pattern at a time. I don't tie huge numbers of a single pattern at one session. My absolute limit on tying is 10 dozen a day. When I have hit this, it has never been less than 8 different patterns. If I had to produce even three sub standard patterns each time I changed patterns, that could be 1/4 of my day spent producing sub standard work. That would mean a lot of materials wasted and tying very slowly overall.

So the answer to your question is I expect the first pattern to be right. That doesn't reflect any great talent, just a different approach.
Cheers,

C.

whether tying for myself, others or even fly swaps, its usually 1-3 flies depending on the difficulty