Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Clearly

Leader Material

I am new to the fly fishing and have been trying to research leaders and materials. I was recently on the Spring River in Arkansas where, I was told you can get by with a larger leader material such as 8-10 lb test mono. Sounds simple. After I returned home I was looking at some of my gear and found a spool of 8 lb Spider Wire. I have seen some people reference braided leaders and was wondering if anyone had used this and what the pros and cons of it would be.

Braided leaders generally means a leader made up of multiple strands or 'furled'. Like a girls hair braided.

Your spider wire is limp and I think will be too soft to carry the energy of the cast and you would have no turnover of the fly.

Mono is generally stiffer and carries the energy better.

What Piker says. I tried using 20 pound test superline (Stren). Just as Piker says, 9 times out of 10, it would all pool up at the end of the fly line. It's too limp, and doesn't carry the fly over.

Where I am, in Florida, we can use heavier lines tied to the fly, too.

I use a straight piece of 10# test mono from fly line to fly ... no taper or tippet.

I am new to the fly fishing and have been trying to research leaders and materials. I was recently on the Spring River in Arkansas where, I was told you can get by with a larger leader material such as 8-10 lb test mono. Sounds simple. After I returned home I was looking at some of my gear and found a spool of 8 lb Spider Wire. I have seen some people reference braided leaders and was wondering if anyone had used this and what the pros and cons of it would be.

A braided leader is made of sections of braided mono that step down in size just like a solid monofilament leader does. Braided leaders are HOLLOW in the center with the braid on the outside.

http://www.orvis.com/p/floating-braided-leader-system/8x17

http://classicflyrodforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=66832&start=20