Fly Tying
Facinorous

Absolute noob.

Hey there guys and gals and everyone in between!

I'm an absolute noob to all things related to this sport (some will probably say lifestyle, and one day I probably will too) and was hoping to get some feedback, tips, tricks and ideas from some of the more seasoned vets.

This last Christmas I was given my first rod, (Redington Path Combo, 6 weight, 9ft) which I have been practising casting on in a field near my house. I was also given a fly tying kit to keep myself busy with.

I dove into the "Beginners fly tying" book that came with the kit, but after a few quasi-failed attempts, and a little light googling, I discovered that the Light Cahill was probably NOT the first pattern I should be learning to tie.

Since then I've abandoned the book, worked my way through as much of scflytying's beginners fly tying course on YouTube as my materials would allow, and watched a few other ones to try to glean techniques.

Here are a few of the flies I've tied, some of which where just experiments to try new techniques, and I have no idea if they look even remotely like any bug on the planet. I do still plan to throw them in the water and see if anything bites. post-56527-0-72626300-1439439888_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-58715000-1439440026_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-17986400-1439439839_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-00765300-1439440124_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-86118100-1439440344_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-93829500-1439440614_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-98436200-1439440664_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-13700000-1439440741_thumb.jpgpost-56527-0-23152800-1439440788_thumb.jpg

I lost pics of a few patterns I've tied, like woolley buggers and partridge and peacock when my phone died.

Thanks for looking, and I appreciate any feedback you can offer!

Hi Facinorous,

Welcome to a new world of craziness... Flytying is a bug you either catch or don't catch. If you get it, then you will start to look into all kinds of materials all over, and begin experimenting etc.