Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
NPurdy

Nathan Needs Advice

Hey guys and gals. I am new to fly tying and just wanted some opinions/advice. I've only been fly fishing once and that was last year. Since then I've been dying to go back. I just tying my own flies last week. I bought some crappy starter kit and material kit. It was cheap and I wanted materials to use for practice so I am not worried about the low quality materials. I have a multitude of questions and concerns and would like to start getting some answers.

I try to find all the information I can on my own, however, I am running into some questions I cannot find the answers to. As far as hooks go; I live in an area that does not do much trout fishing at all. The nearest trout stream is 3 hours away so I do not have the luxury of finding a surplus of hooks and materials. We do have a craft shop nearby that sells tons of feathers and materials and thread that I cannot wait to get ahold of.

When it comes to hooks, does it matter what hook I use? I know this is a rather stupid question but since I do not live anywhere near that sells trout hooks, I'm forced to look at Walmart if I want something quick. The smallest hook they have is a size 8 panfish/crappie hook. My concern with these hooks are that they seem heavy, unless I plan on making nymphs and wet flies or whatever, and they have barbs along the hook shank which could tear my thread and materials. Are there any good options? Or just settle for driving a few hours away and spending $300 for 10 hooks at Bass Pro?

Since this craft shop I live near has thread, is it safe to use for fly tying? It does seem rather thick compared to the 140 and 70 thread I have now. The associates there had no idea how to gauge thread either.