Fly Tying
FlatsRoamer

Head Cement

Hey guys, anyone know of a head cement that does NOT dry up or get all gooey after a while. No luck with loon hard head and zap a gap

Please if you have any answers then share

Flats

*if that even exists*

It is a clear coat for ladies nails that doubles as a head cement about as good as they get. It does last a long time before it thickens a little bit. But it is super cheap so no big deal.

Look for the recent thread on head cement thinners. Lots of info that applies to your question as well.

Any head cement is going to thicken, in time, and become unusable. Those that use highly volatile drying agents, such as Sally Hanson's or Loon, with dry out sooner. For a number of years, now, I have been using Fly-Tite head cement. It uses alcohol as the drying agent, and seems to hold up well, both in use and in the bottle. I've been using the same 2oz bottle for nearly 10 years. I have had to thin it, once, to restore the viscosity, but it still works fine.

To prolong the life of your head cement, though, be sure to cover the bottle between uses. Also, consider using a dispenser bottle such as this:

https://www.feather-craft.com/wecs.php?store=feacraft&action=display&target=TZ008

Here's the routine I've followed for years (when I'm not using Flex-Coat, a two part rodbuilder's finish). All of my flies get a sparse coat of Krazy Glue to seal and harden the thread (see pic...) then, after that dries a thin coat of Sally Hansen. The super glue is dry in five minutes, the Sally Hansen's clear nail polish in about 15 minutes - works great...