Fly Tying
GavinSchu

bass tying materials

Hey i live in California and I am new to fly tying. I mainly fish for bass in small and relatively shallow ponds. I want to tie typical bass flies but don't know what materials i need. Hope someone can help, thank you

Check the Fly Tier's Dungeon. He has kits of materials for specifically tying warmwater bass flies. His products are cheap and very good quality. Plus, you'll be amazed what you get in your first order. He has several you can buy and he also sells individual products.

https://www.flytyersdungeon.com/gift_boxes.htm

FTD is an excellent resource. However, what do you mean by typical? I fish for bass, and Striped Bass and use a lot of different types of flies for both, and many of those flies are used for both. 

It's usually best as a new tyer, to choose a few specific patterns or styles, and then obtain the materials and hooks for only those flies. That's because there's a lot of materials available that could be used, and doubtful many of us have the funds to afford them all. Plus, there always seems to be something new that comes along.

I also like to use flies that are not typically used for bass. These are flies that are tied for other fish species that I adapt to target bass with them. Flies like Mother Of All Leeches (MOAL), and Intruders, both being flies that are normally used for Salmon or Steelhead. I use some offshore poppers for bass & the Stripers. These are big poppers, usually tied on tubes and in the 6" to 8" total length range.  So, with all of what could be used for bass, the materials list would be very long.