Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Dennis71

Tying Squrrel Fur To Trebble Hooks

This is my first time using a forum.

I am a avid northern pike angler.

I'm trying to replace the squirrel fur and/or customize the color of fur on the treble hooks of my (Mepps) spinners.  

I've watched several videos of being done.

For my first try(s), I used a thread that is nylon none-stretch. But I'm having trouble with the fur twisting around the shaft when I'm wrapping the thread.   

Is the twisting happening because I am not using the right kind of thread?  If so, what brand/size should I get?

I noticed a glue was being used.  What brand/type would work?

Also, can anyone give me recommended size/brand thread-bobbin?