Fly Tying
Baron

Classic Flies

I've been tying and catching on my own flies for 8-10 months now. I like it, didn't think I would. My target species is Pickerel and panfish. As time passes I find my eyes wondering towards Classic Patterns. I've watched many video's and directions from guys like Dave McPhail, Don Bastian and some others which are from the great State of Maine. I have a reasonable amount of thread but not necessarily the kinds described. I can afford a little bit more here and there and am hoping to come away with more flies that are colorful and have a wow factor as well as catch fish. I'd like to fish more streamers than jigs and nymphs. 

How would you start in preparing to tie some of the classics. The first that I'd like to master is the Barnes Special and then move out from there. What would be your next step?

I wasn’t familiar with the Barnes Special, but I looked it up and like what I see, especially for Panfish. I live in the South, so I don’t know anything about Pickerel. As far as tying, I would try to get the right materials together. Especially the yellow hackle. One source that I have used in the past is Feather Emporium, but he seems to only fulfill orders on the weekend, so if you order on Monday, you may have to wait a few days. Be sure to look for the loose feathers that he sells just a few at the time. If you can’t find them, let me know. I will be glad to help. No need to buy a whole neck unless you want to tie lots and lots of flies in different sizes. Having some basic tools like a bobbin, hackle pliers, a vice and a whip finisher will make a big difference, if you don’t already own them. If you have other questions, I would be happy to help. 

Breambuster (BB)