Fly Tying
bass master

Fly casting issues

I am still a novice at tying and fly casting. But wont stop. But my issue is I have always tossed an 8 wt rod, reel and weight forward line.  Usually target bass or saltwater fish. I'm OK with a larger fly. But  with a smaller lighter fly. I suck. And if there is a breeze forget it! I usually fish open water. Shore, Basin or off a dock. Should I wrap some wire around the hook,  Use some split shot. Thanks. 

How long is the leader and tippet? How heavy are they? Sizde fly you are trhing to cast? Try to cast sidearm to keep the line, leader and tippet out of the wind. My first fly rod was a South Bend, 8 ft., D weight which is equivalent to a 7 weight. One has to adapt as I learned to cast big bass poppers and small flies I got at Big K at 10 for a buck. Careful- if a split shot hits the blank, it could cause a weak spot that could eventually break as it flexes over time. Like repeatedly bending a piece of steel wire.

Now you understand why they make different weight rods. An 8 wt was never intended to cast small trout flies especially if outfitted with line and leader used to cast heavier or weighted flies. But, never mind, I have a hard time casting slumpbusters with my 2 wt too.

You should be able to cast reasonably well with just a tapered leader and no fly at all. Diagnosing any issues is pretty difficult over the internet, unless you have video.

Jaydud. That's what I was thinking. The line is what does the work. Just might need a lighter set up. 

2 hours ago, shoebop said:

Now you understand why they make different weight rods. An 8 wt was never intended to cast small trout flies especially if outfitted with line and leader used to cast heavier or weighted flies. But, never mind, I have a hard time casting slumpbusters with my 2 wt too.