Fly Tying
flyjake

Peak Rotary or Griffin Odyssey Spider Vise for Beginner

Hello, I am just getting into fly tying and have a question about vises. From what I have read on this forum and on the internet it is worth buying a good, robust vise since they last a lifetime and starter toolkits tend to be cheap. After perusing the different related topics in this forum, two of the most popular vises that are mentioned and within my price range are the Peak Rotary vise and the Griffin Odyssey Spider vise. It looks like they are both true rotary vises and have similar features. I'm wondering if the Peak Rotary vise offers something that justifies the extra $60, or if the Griffin Odyssey Spider will give me everything I need. Keep in mind, I am just getting into this hobby and have no experience tying flies. Thanks!

flyjake,

I have been tying on a Griffin for many years and have had no issues. Right now I have the Griffin Odyssey Spider, you referenced above. I have changed the jaws to the cam jaw, which has made it much easier to put your hooks in the vice. Currently you can buy the vice to come with the cam jaws. I have tied hook sizes from 4/0 to 24. In my opinion it is a great vice, especially for a beginner due to the cost. 

I can't talk about the Peak vise, as I have never tied on one, but the Griffin is something I will continue to tie on, because the main reason is I simply can't justify spending more money for a true rotary vice that does the job! I also only tie for myself, family, and friends. No plans to tie commercially and if I did, I would have no reservation about tying with the Griffin. Good luck!

The internet is a terrible thing. A vise holds a hook. A very simple job. Both of those vises and a great many more will accomplish the simple task of holding a hook. The choice to spend a lot or a little to accomplish this very simple task is up to you. I, as in myself, choose not to pay for  the hype and B.S. in fly fishing.