Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
themattman

Fly lines

Floating. If you want the line to sink, get a sinking tip and use a long leader and tippet. I have been flinging flies for about 53 years and never had the need for sinking line. I'm sure that there are situations where you would need a sinking line. Practice casting as it's a different ballgame with a sinking line or tip.

Fish will very often hit below surface when they won't on top. How you get the fly down there is a matter of your personal preference. But I always like a spare spool with some form of sinking line on it, personally ( less important on rivers than ponds or ocean and totally un-needed in stream fishing).

I guess one factor (two aspects) to consider, how deep is the water you're fishing, and how deep are the fish in that water.

Where I fish, the water is rarely deeper than 12 feet. Even more rare is when I am fishing deeper than 6 feet. So a floating line is perfect. If I need the fly to get a little deeper, I just tie on a longer leader. I still can get down (and the floating line will start to sink if I leave it long enough) but I don't have to pull a lot of line from underwater to start the cast.

Plus, I like using the line as my bobber. Watching the line for small tics is a great way to detect strikes. Works in all but the fastest water flows.

That would depend on how deep you want to be fishing, from what I have heard a floater would be my choice. If you want one that casts really well, lies straight on the water and is of renown quality, you could do worse than get a GT90

When I got the first one I was amazed and haven't bought anything else since.

Cheers,

C.

OK, thanks. What about when i am fishing on a lake in boat? I am going to be fishing in Lake Michigan in July. Would the floating work fine here as well?