Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
tmartin412

Dubbing Drubbing

My dry fly tying is abhorrent. For dubbing I've tried numerous methods (dubbing wax, dubbing loops, less material, over wraps with bare thread, etc). Every time I dub a body it looks like complete and utter garbage. I do work better with some materials and it has me wondering if I just have low quality synthetic material. I hate to blame the material but I do better with hares ear material and some crystal flash dubbing I just purchased.

Any suggestions to tie a better dry fly or Youtube videos I should watch? PS I do not have a hackle gauge but it is on my list next time I head to the shop.

Thanks!

I am biased because I have had mutal business dealings with Al and Gretchen Beatty. The have a dubbing e-book just out on Amazon for about 5 bucks. Got my $$ worth in first 7 pages! Might be free with Amazon prime! They are true Experts!

I'm a beginner and I've been there. The videos make it so easy...but not impossible. First I found out that synthetic dubbing is harder to work with than real hair. Although I never tied a dry fly I believe they use real hair so thats good. Secondly, use such a small amount, I mean small. You can always add more. When you apply it to your thread kind of spread it out a bit. When you spin it, pinch it and spin in *one* direction. You can lick your finger to spin a tighter noodle. Again, small amount, lick your finger and spin in one direction. Wrapping with a taper comes with practice bc it might have a spot with less dubbing so you might have to do a second wrap in one spot before moving.

With synthetic dubbing, use 50% less than your small amount. I mean jus grab fibers. Once its in a noodle it looks like a lot more. Good luck bro and keep practicing. It gets better.

Joe