Fly Tying
atxdiscgolfer

Spanish Mackerel

Anybody ever target these? What weight rod did you use catching them in the surf? And what patterns work well, i am thinking that pinfish amd mullet patterns would work well since i have used those on spinning rod but i am very new to fly fishing the surf so any help would be appreciated.

I go for them on the flats where they are often feasting on glass minnows. Pretty much anything with flash will do the trick, especially clousers and surf candies. Cast out, lower the rod tip to the water or even submerge it, and strip like crazy. A two handed strip works real well if they are aggressive and want it even more fast than usual. You can't strip too fast, they'll catch it. Poppers also work well but in my experience seem to get broken off easier since more than one may strike at it and hit the leader. The water where I fish is often clear so I don't use wire leader.

One trick to avoid using wire and break offs, is to tie flies on long shank hooks (2xl or longer) and tie them a bit off the eye towards the bend so the shank ends up acting as a bite guard.

I use both poppers and long shanked Clousers for Mack's -but we're never surf fishing, and only fishing for them as targets once we've had a cut-off or two... In my area they're present year 'round but best in winter (along the salt coast of the Everglades).

The Clousers I hand my anglers are on Mustad #34011 hooks, size #1. They're simple, sparse, all white buck tail with very bright fluorescent thread (in red, fire orange, green, or yellow). I tie some with lead eyes, some with bead chain.

I need to do a dozen of them next week and I'll post photos ((they're also great for lady fish....