Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Poopdeck

Promising weather report

With lows in the single digits and highs in the upper teens to low 20's for the next ten days I went out and dug my ice gear out of the shed. Gonna reline a few tip ups, tweak the tip downs and respool the ice rods in preparation for safe ice next weekend. I've been meaning to reconfigure my sled but I think I'll have o put that on hold till summer. I say this every year. Man I love this time of year. Anybody else hitting out there like hitting the ice?

With this cold weather coming in I've dragged in some apple wood I've been drying for a couple of years and am turning out Christmas gifts on my lathe for next year. I've got my kerosene heater running strong in the basement shop right now, i can work down there in a T Shirt as long as I keep that sucker full tilt ! I gave up ice fishing a bunch of years ago, I don't even own a proper insulated suit at this point, nor tip ups. We rarely get true safe ice around these parts anyway, especially in the spring fed lakes and ponds. Although they say about 3 years ago it got to 16" but that's a once in two decades affair right there. I've seen 12" on Jan 1 before, then in Feb be fishing open water.

If it stays cold I'll probably build a couple of rods this winter too, a 10 ft 4wt nymphing rod and a 4/5 two handed spey.

I'm buying a new vise next week to add to my HMH tube vise ( got a $200 gift certificate to Bears Den for Christmas to go towards a new vise). I'm tossed between an HMH Spartan and a Renzetti 2000 with adjustable arm. Note the indoor activities list, bad enough I'll have to go out and blow snow at some point I suppose .

News flash!

Man found dead in basement! Kerosene heater suspected of depleting oxygen levels while man worked on lathe. Lathe was still running.

Just one more reason why I hate cold weather.

Chug, that is a beautiful picture. Where is that?