Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
chugbug27

Flies for spawning cutthroats

I'm heading out for two days of mid-week creek fishing for spawning cutthroat in the Eastern Sierras. They are in their annual spring migration from a large lake. The creek is maybe 20 feet across and anywhere from 2-10 feet deep, depending. It's a first for me.

Any experienced advice on what fly patterns to use? Much appreciated!

I have no experience about trout fishing. But from all the conversations and articles ... I was under the belief that spawn run fish don't actually eat anything. If that's the case, bright streamers would illicit reaction strikes ... yes?

The best info I've got, and it's just info from research and not experience, is that the prespawning cuts hover downstream of the redds to eat eggs and to eat the larger nymphs and larvae that the spawners dredge up making and tending to the redds, and that postspawners are hungry for almost anything when spotted not near any redds, and that the spawners attack anything that angers them. So I'm taking egg patterns, stonefly nymph and caddis larva imitations, hairwings, classic wets, and assorted flashy attractors. I'm also taking a bunch of swap flies to hopefully post some swap caught pics...

Again, if anyone's got experience to share, please do, thanks in advance!

I caught cuts in Idaho on worms and single eggs way back when, have never been back with flies. It must have post spawn, it was warm enough to camp at 8700'.

A half inch long piece of red worm threaded on a #16 hook looks very near a caddis larva, imo, and that would be my go to fly I think. The eggs that we used were bright red, fwtw. & ~3/16" diameter.

I'd likely trade the classic wets for some woolly-buggers, just because I use buggers everywhere and just a hunch I'd try a sparse MikeyFinn in the riffle, and never go out without some kind of midge, for me that's a Griffiths gnat, mosquito should always be in the box too.