Fly Tying
FreshH20

Hooks Index & Cross Reference

I'm new to this, forum stuff and fly tying. Does anyone know of a hook index that would cross reference most of the hooks used in tying. Going into the fly shop and looking for a Partridge 847 in a size 16, 2x long, (fly shop doesn't carry Partridge hooks) although they do carry Mustad, Umpqua, Gamakatsu, Daiichi, etc., you get what I am talking about. It's weird, I can't seem to find a reference anywhere. Second thing is, a person new to tying really isn't going to know the difference between a nymph hook, scud hook to a dry fly hook.

I'm new to this, forum stuff and fly tying. Does anyone know of a hook index that would cross reference most of the hooks used in tying. Going into the fly shop and looking for a Partridge 847 in a size 16, 2x long, (fly shop doesn't carry Partridge hooks) although they do carry Mustad, Umpqua, Gamakatsu, Daiichi, etc., you get what I am talking about. It's weird, I can't seem to find a reference anywhere. Second thing is, a person new to tying really isn't going to know the difference between a nymph hook, scud hook to a dry fly hook.

Welcome to the forum.

Correct hook style can be a never ending quest.

There are members building a database but not sure if operational.

To get started on basics, Jann's has a printable chart on their website. I find it useful... Then I go to catalogues and try to compare brands from model to model

Hook and Hackle has one too that features H&H hooks vs. Tiemco and Mustad. The old H&H site had a more generic cross reference, but that was years ago, before they started carrying their own brand.

Don't fall into the trap of hook labels either. Dry, wet, nymph etc. So long as the wire is of a thickness appropriate for the Tippet you can tie on any hook you think suits the patterns you want.

So long as the wire is of a thickness appropriate for the Tippet

thats a new one. do you have a chart for this wire diameter to tippet size?