Fly Tying
SpokaneDude

How important is eye distance in Clouser Minnow fly?

Good Day....this is my first attempt at tying the Clouser Minnow for bass fishing; with that in mind, how important is the distance of the eye dumbell from the eye of the hook? I have attached an image of what I have tied so far; my question is: if you look at the 2 flies on the top, you will notice that the eyes are set further back towards the hook bend... does this make any difference? Will these flies catch bass or trout (providing I do my part in casting and retrieving the hook-up)? I would like a critique also as to what I could do better.

Thanks in advance...

SD

post-56493-0-96415900-1566431172_thumb.jpg

Dude,

I 've got a leaflet of clouser instructions I picked up from Bob at his shop in PA in probably 1990, somewhere. If I can find it I'll photocopy it and send you a copy

Doug

I knew I had a pic on this computer, From his shop from way back when

post-54459-0-07918000-1566432728_thumb.jpg

I say the top two and the bottom one are close enough, but, it may matter more than I think. Are they supposed to head stand like a jig or swim like minnow, and how can we know if it is doing one or the other?

Bob himself telling it how he like them.

I believe I read that when Bob divides the hook into thirds he is measuring the hook overall- not just the straight part of the shank. He sets the eye farther from the hook eye than any store I been in does.

I have to compare the clouser minnow to a soft plastic bassin' lure I use, called a "Sticko" from BPS. It's a "Stick Bait" like the "Senko".

Rigged properly, it stays level and flutters as it falls through the water column. Neither end dips faster, causing a dive. This horizontal sinking movement is more lifelike and "dying" than a diving presentation.